Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Thoughts on Fanfiction Sites

PreviousPage 2 of 3Next

For me, both of the websites came with their advantages and disadvantages and that's why I use both in equal measure.

For me ffn is the first fic site I came across and I like the main character and main pairing tagging system offered by the ffn over the a03. They also have a very good app with a good UI in both Android and iOS.

I have been using a03 since about 2-3 years and I like their exclusion tags, their relationship tags and other general tags. I mostly use a combination of inclusive and exclusive tags to search for specific fics of my requirement. I feel the tagging system of a03 is superior to the ffn's and it is currently limited by the many authors not tagging their fics well .

Heatherlly, The Gestalt Prince and Naaga have reacted to this post.
HeatherllyThe Gestalt PrinceNaaga

This isn't really a new thought on my part, but I've noticed that Ao3 has been down almost all day. There's a Polygon article that I read that claims it's from DDoS attacks

Naaga and Dark Angel have reacted to this post.
NaagaDark Angel

OMG!!! @heatherlly pretty plz give me your wisdom on how to make your own Fanfiction writing/reading sites I don't how or where to start if it's not too much to ask and plz tell me if I'm being pushy

Questions:

1. How much time does creating a site like Ao3 or FFN take.

2. Do I need funding to publish my site.

3. Is it better to learn coding, or is it better to use these free website builders and if so which one do you recommend.

4. After finishing the site will I have to be checking on it all the time to fix bugs.

5. Just like Ao3 will I be able to ask for donations to help fund my site cause do I need to pay anyone of outside sources to keep my site up and running.

6. Will I need a team, like moderators or admins to help police the site and keep order, or will I be able to do that my self.